YWIH Summer Blog: Jamie Haddad Busy Bee

This is a silly photo we took with one of our teachers on the last day of class!

This is a silly photo we took with one of our teachers on the last day of class!

Hey Everyone! I hope you all are enjoying the summer!

dead sea water

I took this photo on one of my weekend trips to the Dead Sea. For those of you who don’t know, this place is actually wicked cool- the salt content of the water is so high that you float!

This weekend I’m enjoying being home in Massachusetts, but I have actually had a pretty crazy summer so far. I’d say the craziness began the day before I drove down to Virginia… I was at home eating dinner when I noticed my dad was messing around with one of my mom’s epipens. I will spare you the theatrical story, but in the end I did end up sticking the epipen into my leg thinking it was a blank tester. It was not. That made for an especially awkward encounter when about 10 emergency responders showed up at my house to find me (a 20 year old Yale student, I swear!) sitting on the couch in a very fancy dress shirt and my dad’s underwear- don’t ask.

Anyway, shortly after that I embarked on a five-week journey to Jordan, a country in the Middle East. I spent the first week of the trip living with my dad’s family. I’ve been there a few times before so it

Here is a view of the dead sea from my hotel room balcony. The land that you sea in the background is actually Palestine.

Here is a view of the dead sea from my hotel room balcony. The land that you sea in the background is actually Palestine.

wasn’t that strange, but there is definitely still a language barrier between some of my relatives and I that made for a couple interesting rounds of charades.

For my remaining four weeks in Jordan I participated in an intensive language program to improve my Arabic. I stayed with a host family for that and they were incredibly strange! However, I did get to see some cool places/have fun and I spent the last two weeks observing Ramadan. Since I’m not Muslim this was a new experience for me (and one that I did not

This little guy and his family kept us company for a while- they were walking across the road we were trying to drive on.

This little guy and his family kept us company for a while- they were walking across the road we were trying to drive on.

particularly enjoy), but it was extremely fascinating to see how people in a predominantly Muslim country observe this holiday.

This week is also exciting for me because it will mark the last week of my summer internship at an investment banking company in Stamford, CT. This was my first real work experience in finance so I got to have my first insider view into the world of Wall Street, etc. However, I’m incredibly happy to be home for the weekend and can’t wait to enjoy my last few hours before I return to my summer

Petra is an entire Bedouin city carved into stone by the Romans. No one knows how this ancient wonder was made so people come from all over to marvel at it.

Petra is an entire Bedouin city carved into stone by the Romans. No one knows how this ancient wonder was made so people come from all over to marvel at it.

apartment in New Haven. If anyone wants to come visit and hang out before school starts, let me know!

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a traditional Jordanian spread that one of my aunt’s prepared.

This is a traditional Jordanian spread that one of my aunt’s prepared.

The inside of an incredibly beautiful mosque.

The inside of an incredibly beautiful mosque.

About yalewomenshockey

Yale Women's Hockey Assistant Coach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

