Summer Blog Entry: Captain Alyssa Zupon India and Back to Yale

Hello all!

Doesn’t get more touristy than this! I’m pretty famous for my model shots. Teammates will attest to this.

Welcome to the YWIH summer blog! Throughout the summer, a different member of our team will be adding an update about her summer here. We have players all over the world, at home and abroad, doing awesome and diverse things, so it should be lots of fun to see what everyone is up to.

I, sadly, am not one of those people who will be spending the next few months globetrotting. I’ll be in New Haven for the rest of the summer,

Tiger cubs playing in Bandhavgarh

working in a neurogenetics lab at the Yale Medical School, training at the rink, shadowing at Dr. DiLuna (Giana’s neurosurgeon) at Yale New Haven Hospital, taking a couple physics courses, and studying for the MCAT in August. It’s OK… I’m aware:  I’m nerding out hardcore this summer. Fortunately, my lab research and shadowing at the hospital are extremely interesting

Chaos and color in Varanasi, a city over 3,500 years old

and exciting, and I’m enjoying learning so much.  It’s also great to train at the rink and spend time or workout with teammates who are also on campus.

Right before settling into New Haven, I spent a couple weeks in India and Nepal with my family. We did a whirlwind tour of eight cities in India (Delhi, Jaipur, Agra,

Sending off a prayer candle on the Ganges River

Orchha, Khajuraho, Bandhavgarh, Varanasi, and Mumbai) and two in Nepal (Kathmandu and Nagarkot).  Our trip took us from chaotic and bustling city streets to ancient temples, lush jungle, scorching-hot desert, and quaint mountain villages.  Highlights included a few days on jungle safari to see Bengal tigers, the actually-that-impressive Taj Mahal, a propeller-plane flight over the Himalayas to see Mount

Himalayas at sunrise

Everest, and the everyday struggle to cross Indian city streets.  Overall, I had such an amazing time and loved the vibrant culture, rich history, and delicious food!

Life back on campus has been a nice return to the familiar and comfortable, but I’m also looking forward to tackling new challenges here.  I’m excited to immerse myself into lab research, work hard on the summer training program, kill the MCAT, and prepare for a great season! I hope everyone is having a great summer so far, and I’m looking forward to reading about everyone else’s adventures!

About yalewomenshockey

Yale Women's Hockey Assistant Coach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

