Alyssa Zupon Summer Entry-Living the Life Traveling

Hello everyone! I hope you all are enjoying the last sweet days of summer. I’ve

Hanging out with Giana

been all over the place. In June, I split my time between home in New Jersey and New Haven, where I took a couple courses and shadowed Dr. DiLuna (Giana’s neurosurgeon) at Yale New Haven Hospital.  Classes were perfectly unremarkable, but my time at the hospital was incredibly exciting and inspiring, and I couldn’t have asked for a better role model to observe and learn from. Another highlight was hanging out with Giana and her family, which, as always, was so much fun! 

In July, I spent three weeks in Japan, visiting family, working for my mom’s

Where I traveled in Japan

business, and attempting to immerse myself in the culture and improve my Japanese. I explored big cities like Tokyo, Kyoto, and Kobe, and relaxed a bit in various mountainous and farming villages in central Japan.

We also took a trip to the coastal towns devastated by the earthquake and tsunami this past spring in an effort to establish an NPO to help affected students continue their education. The whole experience was very powerful, overwhelming, and somewhat frustrating, but one that I am very thankful I had.

Soon after arriving back at home, I was on a plane again for Africa. My family and I spent a week in South Africa, sightseeing, hiking, and cage diving with great white sharks, then went on a week-long safari in Botswana.

Hiking up Table Mountain overlooking Cape Town, South Africa

Diving with Great Whites

The safari was incredible. We had hippos waddle a few meters in front of our tent in the morning, an angry elephant confront us while we were walking through the wild with a bushman, and a pride of lions wake us up several times at night with their roars as they roamed about outside our tent. It was such an incredible experience and a dramatic end to an amazing summer.

Now I’m back in New Jersey and it’s quite nice to be home. And it’s especially nice to be able to sprint without nervously checking the tall grass for cheetahs every couple minutes. I wish I were kidding.

New Warm up Suits?

Anyway, I hope everyone’s summer is winding down well, and I can’t wait to get back on campus and start the season so soon!

Pretty Giraffe

Dead Giraffe

About yalewomenshockey

Yale Women's Hockey Assistant Coach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

