Natalie Wedell Summer Entry-Taste of the Coaching World

Sister Lauren and I

Hi from Minnesota! The road-trip home from Connecticut included a tour of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, a Cleveland Indians game, a stopover at Carleton College, a walking tour of the Mississippi riverfront, and a behind-the-scenes look at the Guthrie Theater.

The coaching expertise of Matt Menne, Courtney Josefson, and yours truly led to a championship win by Team Red at the 2011 Junior Festival. Thanks to the MGHCA for providing me with the opportunity to give back to our thriving hockey community. Next week I travel to Breezy Point in northern Minnesota to coach at Freshman/Sophomore Camp with a stellar group of coaches, counselors, and players.

In between training sessions, I’ve attended grad parties, cheered at my sister Lauren’s hockey and lacrosse games, and taken my

Segway Tour

dachshund Buddy on walks. It’s awesome to be back in Minnesota playing pick-up hockey with all of the talented local athletes.

In July, I will travel to Turks and Caicos to complete a marine resource management class. It’s my first time ever leaving the country! I earned SCUBA certification and am ready to travel 60 feet underwater to observe sea turtles, queen conch, spiny lobster, and the vibrant coral reefs. Community service is

Prepping for Scouba

important to me. I’ll be teaching island kids how to swim and read.

Before I return to school in August, I will take a Segway tour of St. Paul, spend lots of time with my grandmother (savoring her homemade raspberry jam), and go sightseeing with my mom, aunt, and sister in New York City.

Hope everyone is having a memorable summer! From Nerd with love.

Coaching Team Red

P.S. Did you catch me on Oprah?

We Are Number 1!

About yalewomenshockey

Yale Women's Hockey Assistant Coach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

