Heather Grant Summer Entry-World of a Doctor

I am the one in the back row-middle with the White Bandana

I hope everyone is enjoying their summer so far!  After an exhausting finals period (filled with late nights of studying and watching the NHL play-offs), I went home for 2.5 weeks to recuperate and spend some quality time with my family and friends.  We celebrated my brother’s acceptance to McGill engineering (NERD!), I caught up with some old friends, and I helped my team (the Wonton Warriors) to a 2nd place finish in the 5th annual Asian Hockey Championships in Toronto.

After a couple of restful weeks at home, it was time for me to return to New Haven to begin my internship at the Yale Eye Center (YEC).  Each week, I split my time between regular internship duties and the Ocular Oncology section of the YEC.  My normal duties include: pre-screening charts to see if any patients meet the criteria for various research projects, enrolling those patients that do qualify in the relevant studies, and shadowing physicians.  With the oncology team, I have been helping write a paper (it’s basically a case report and literature review that will hopefully be published in a peer-reviewed ophthalmology journal) and shadowing the physicians during their clinics.  So far, the internship has been great!  I’ve met many interesting people, learned a lot, and seen a wide variety of ocular conditions, ranging from benign lesions to metastatic cancers.  Since I only work Monday through Thursday, I’m also going to be observing orthopedic surgeries at Yale-New Haven Hospital (YNHH) starting this Friday.  I can’t wait!

Outside of my time at the YEC and YNHH, I’ve been hanging out with some friends and alums, and working out with Joe.  The work-outs have been tough, but hopefully all our hard work will pay off in the end and we can have a great season next year!

Have a great summer!

About yalewomenshockey

Yale Women's Hockey Assistant Coach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

